Do I need to adjust my needle up/down speed?

I've noticed that when I first start quilting, my needle takes a long time to come back to neutral when I do the needle up/down button. I warm the machine up for about 15 minutes on slow speed.

After I've been actually quilting for awhile, this seems to go away, but it's aggravating, because the first thing I have to do is all the basting of the batting top and it's tedious to wait several seconds for every stitch.

Should I adjust my needle up/down speed? I don't want to make it too fast after the machine has warmed up.

Has anyone else had this problem?

Julia

Hi Julia.

I'm no expert here, but I find if my machine sits for more than a day or two in the colder weather (here in NJ), it takes a while to litterally warm up the oil and get moving smoothly again. I quilt up in our attic. I do turn the heat on about an hour before I head up there...and in the coldest part of the year we keep it at about 60 at night and about 68 when I'm working. I think the machine likes it to be close to 70 degrees. Our electric bill and economical hubby likes it cooler!!

I've had my Liberty for almost 3 years and have had no need to adjust the needle up/down speed.

Is it getting chillier in MD these days? Are you using enough oil?

Good luck!

Lisa

NW NJ

I use a space heater to get the room nice and warm before turning on the machine, then do a one up/down with the needle, then slow, then medium, then fast, then medium, then slow. If your needle up/down is at the right rate after sewing awhile, perhaps your warm up routine isn't warming up the machine enough -- try adding the medium and fast speeds. Maybe it will help. Good luck!