DSM quilter considering LA

I have done a lot of free motion quilting on my DSM - mostly for myself, but some for charity, friends, etc. I have been teaching free motion quilting for my local guild for the past several years.

Recently I have been thinking about purchasing an Ultimate I. It is not so expensive that I would have to break the bank to buy it, and I figure I can learn to use it on whole cloth and community quilts.

I really enjoy machine quilting, and if this turns out to be as interesting as I hope it will be, I would consider starting a business quilting for others. I have a room in one of our outbuildings suitable for the machine. I don't need to make a lot of money - but it would be nice to be able to pay for the machine and then have some extra dollars coming in.

I have just discovered the APQS forums, and am enjoying reading the posts. I'd appreciate hearing advice about how others began their LA experience. Did you teach yourself? Take classes? How long did you practice before you felt you were competent to take in quilts from paying customers? What things should I consider before taking the plunge?

Thanks for any wisdom you can share:-)

Hi fineseams (please add a signature so we know your name). I started with my DSM and graduated to a PFAFF Grand Quilter and Inspira frame. So many of my friends wanted me to quilt for them, that I knew that it would not be difficult for me to pay off a longarm machine, and before I knew it, the best deal of my life came up and APQS was selling some Green Milleniums for a good price. Within a week I had made my decision and am so happy I did! I didn't even know about this fabulous forum at the time - my instincts just told me this was RIGHT.