how to start a LA group

Well since I am very new at la I feel I could benefit from some kind of group but no group in my area. There are a few ladies that do this around me but have only met one and didn't get a good feeling when I introduced myself (like I was going to steal business or something)

I told her right up front that wasn't my intention and was just looking for a group. Any how there is another lady I am going to meet and approach about getting together. I really don't have any ideas about what happens at these kind of gatherings besides learning from each others experiences. Any suggestions?

it's the same as a quilt guild, but without all the business/fees: show and tell/demo/FOOD! the only difference is everyone has some kind of stand up quilting machine....plus you get to see their 'studio'

each group can set their 'rules' and make it as formal or informal as each id comfortable with...

i read a blog where the long armers actually made it offical and have a guild and just got done with their show...

plus it gets you out of your house, and sometimes being around like-minded people will get your creative spark a jump start...it's like a power boost for your spirit...

at least that's what i heard :)

Well, I guess our rules here at the Moxies are, there are no rules. We get together about every 3 to 4 months. I am fairly new to the group, just a couple of years. I met some of the group at Innovations and just kind of became a member.