New Long Armer and First Customer Quilts

I have a "new to me" APQS Ultimate 1 coming home this Sunday and I already have quilting friends asking me to quilt tops for them. I consider myself pretty proficient at quilting on a domestic machine but I realize there will be a learning curve especially considering the machine I'm taking on has no stitch regulation. Certainly I want to spend some time getting to know my machine and I would never consider quilting on someone else's quilt without feeling completely confident that I could offer quality quilting, even if at first I only feel confident about stippling!

My question really is, how would you handle those first initial quilts and what might you charge? I don't want to give away my time for free but at the same time, I don't want to charge without having the skill to back it up. My quilting pals realize I'm new to long arming and I think they are realistic in their expectations of what I will be able to do as I learn my new machine...but at the same time part of why I wanted the long arm is to earn a little extra income and I cannot quilt all of my friend's tops for free - I have plenty of my own quilts to practice on!

In the kindest most delicate way how can I offer them some sort of reasonable rate that will justify my time without offending them or putting them off?