Triangles - aaaaaargh!!!

Not that I don't like them, mind you, they are very nice when they all hit the seem at the same time in a nice row, but when their points refuse to connect, I want to chuck them and go straight for the woof or the warp or whatever it is in a hurry. Get those biases away from me!! AAAaaaarrgggghhh!!!

The first BOM was great, as it was just a kind of feathered star... um, it's called Union Square and it's nice and square and looks great. But that Corn and Beans..... yikes! Too many little triangles. They seem nice and innocent laying there in pieces, but when I put them all together in a square, it isn't. Heeelllp!!!

Here's Union Square and I'll post Corn and Beans in the next one.

post--13461897931454_thumb.jpg

I've never made this kind of block before, so I'm just learning. The fabrics were provided, except the background which was mine. Maybe there's some way to make it square without reducing it's size a lot so it will still fit in the wall hanging. :mad:

post--13461897931546_thumb.jpg

One of my favourite new gadgets is a ruler that helps construct half-square triangles..it's the Quilt in a Day Triangle Square Up ruler. They make perfect sized squares and you can make up to 8 at a time. It's quick and easy and makes such a difference in the construction of blocks. Same goes for the Quilt in a Day Flying Geese ruler...no wonkiness, just perfect!

I know they are difficult - but they look awesome - I love that corn and beans....I love all of them. I keep thinking a quilt for my list (of quilts I want to do but probably never will), is Geese on a Pond -I think that is the name - lots of triangles but so cool.