Computerized Quilting..any comments?

I'm new to the quilting world and was looking into computerized quilting. I'd say I've done my homework, but I'm also curious about something. I know the devises will quilt panto patterns and blocks etc, but is there something they don't do that they should. I guess my question is what do you wish a computerized quilter would do that it doesn't do?

Thanks for your help!!

Load the quilt:)

I have a CompuQuilter and it can do almost everything. One of the things I haven't been able to do with it is background fillers. It is very difficult to set the system to do fillers.

Also, I would love to be able to see the system set up an entire quilt with different blocks. Doing a panto, you can see how the entire quilt will look, but when using different designs in blocks, borders, etc. you can't see what the finished quilt design will look like. I would also like to be able to set up a wholecloth design and then stitch it out in sections.

I haven't tried doing cross hatching yet, but I understand it can be done but some say it is easier to do it with rulers and your channel locks.

These are just a few thoughts off the top of my head.

Guest Linda S

If you get the new Intelliquilter, you can do just about anything. I don't think they have perfected the last design module yet that allows you to do very intricate designs of your own, but it's coming.

Linda

Hi everyone

Joe, I'm not sure if you are looking to compare systems to see which one offers the most features but if you are I'd answer your questions this way.

All systems offer panto quilting, some offer pantos and blocks, others offer pantos, blocks, and the ability to digitise and use your own designs. Prices of set-ups vary according to the "level" features.