Meandering

Hi, I am a newbie but I just want to say HOW MUCH FUN IS THIS!!!. I just finished my second quilt. It took longer to load the quilt than it did to quilt it.

ANYWAY!!! does anyone have a method for meandering where you dont cross over work you have already done. Like start at some point and go this direction. I know good lighting is essential and I have thaT. I know machine height is critical for your back and also to see properly. I have that. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I know I'm the only one who knows there are some small mistakes but I want to learn it right so each quilt will get better. Thanks a bunch.

Nora

Washougal, Washington

Millennium

The newbies best friend is a meander that DOES cross over the previous work!!! Do a swoop to the right, a loop (any size) counterclockwise, another curved line and a loop clockwise. This is the old stand-by loop meander. If you accidently cross a line, it all matches!

Get a dry erase board and practice drawing everything. Or use copy paper or a newsprint pad and a gel pen. Practice the classic stipple in every size and soon you will have it down.

Draw with your whole arm by holding your arm above the paper. This trains the muscles in your arm to draw, instead of your wrist--just like when you are steering the machine.

Darlene Epps Pocket Guides are an invaluable tool--order them if you can afford to now.

There are lots of hints on this chat--search for a specific topic/problem/question and you should find an answer (or two, or three!!) Have fun and a year from now you will be guiding newbies through this happy journey!

Linda Rech

Also a Washingtonian