new machine - needle breaking

annie-melrose

Hi, I'm just wondering if anyone can help me. I am an absolute newbie and I had the elation of my new millie arriving on Tuesday, I've done the setup, read the manual and watched the DVD, - BUT - when I got as far as sewing the exercises without top thread or bobbin thread (bobbin case out too) the needle broke, had only been using the machine for 10 minutes or so on and off. Have searched the site and sent off messages (I think I must have posted them in the wrong forum because no responses overnight) now I have missed the time difference to catch the APQ office, so would love it if someone has any advice. I think it is the number 8 screw that needs adjusting because the machine did 4 or 5 extra stitches after I had pushed the button to stop. I have found info on the extra few stitches after pusing the stop button, but can't find anything on the needle breaking. I can't see what might be making the needle break. Would just appreciate any advice before I start adjusting things and possibly making it worse. My Australian agent is away at a show at the moment.

All the best

Judy in West Australia.

Judy....there can be many reasons why your needle is breaking.

Perhaps you can get in touch with your rep soon, but off hand I would suggest you follow the manual in making sure you've installed your needle correctly.

A word of advice I would give you as a "newbie" is to move your machine as smooth as you possibly can. Do not take off fast or make jerky movements, move your machine smooth.

Hi Judy--

If you are running the machine without thread and without the bobbin case inserted, you must be hitting something hard--either the needle plate or something in the bobbin assembly. Please wait until you can get some help.