Floating a Quilt

Can anyone out there tell how (and why) to float a quilt. I bought Linda Taylor's book and she has pictures, but I am still a little confused. I'm a newbie, what can I say?!

I did try this method and I had difficulty basting the top and sides down. I think part of the problem was the material, it was somewhat stretchy. The other problem I have is basting close to the edge - I keep going off. I also have some fear of getting my fingers too close and I know that doesn't help.

Thanks in advance for any advise you can give me.

Ema, APQS Ultimate I

Ema: If you will search our past conversations, you'll find quite a few of them with some good discussion on floating. Go up to the blue bar near the top and you'll see "search" on the left. I just did it, putting in simply "float" and came up with lots of posts.

If you still have questions after reading those, post again and I'm sure you'll get plenty of help.

I do the partial float method where I pin the bottom of the top to the leader, then run a straight line across the batting/backing and pin the top to that line.

Good luck!

Ema, I just posted some pretty detailed photos and notes on my webshots page for partially floating a quilt. I'm hoping this will help some of my customers understand why they need backings and battings larger than their tops!! I also have a few friends who are new quilters who have asked me how I load a quilt. Go to the loading a quilt album jeri

www.community.webshots.com/user/jerisstitchesintime

Jeri--

How thoughtful of you to post current pictures. I will take a look tonight when I get home.