Panto Dilemma

As a newbie I am probably asking a silly question but here goes.....When starting a panto, I understand that the stitching of the pattern goes above/beyond the quilt top raw edge and onto the batting/backing and gets trimmed off after (as indicated on the longarmuniversity website panto directions). When this edge gets trimmed, won't the stitching unravel? This question also can be applied to the bottom of the quilt when the pattern gets stitched of the top onto the excess battin/backing - does this need to be secured before trimming?

Hi Janice,

Good job of thinking ahead!

There are several opinions regarding quilting off the edge of the quilt and then having that stitching cut off during trimming.

To deal with the dilemma some quilters take the following precautions:

[*] Instead of actually quilting all the way off the edge, quilters will quilt just until they are inside the 1/4 inch seam allowance for the binding. To do this, move the machine until the needle is aligned just inside the seam allowance, and look at where the laser touches the pantograph pattern. Next, use some painter\'s tape and "mask off" the quilting design just "below" the laser beam (the part of the design that would fall off the quilt edge if you kept going.)

Then as you quilt the design, when your laser beam runs into the painter\'s tape, travel along the tape\'s edge until you join up with the stitching line again. In essence, the edge of the painter\'s tape would represent a quilting line that would fall inside the 1/4 seam allowance.

[*] Use smaller stitches when attaching the binding, to help catch those threads that leave the edge of the quilt.

[*] Depending on the quilt\'s use, it might not be a big issue. Quilts hanging on a wall won\'t see much wear, but a bed quilt might get handled and/or laundered, increasing the risk that the stitches could become undone.