Please help! How to quilt?

Hello! I would love to hear how you would quilt this baby quilt that I am making...and what thread you would use.

I would like to do something different from an overall pattern, so I would like to 'honor' the lines of the piecing, for a change.

I also would like to have the actual thread be not quite so prominent as it usually is with the variegated thread that I love (too much) to use. Do you think this means that I need to use one type of thread on the lights and another on the darks?

I'm thinking that I would like to enhance the square in a square effect of the blocks rather than the pinwheels, but I'm up for suggestions.

I'm new at attachments, so if you don't see a photo of the quilt anywhere around, I goofed! I will try again though!

Thanks. Linda/9patch

post--13461897675466_thumb.jpg

Guest Linda S

Linda - I like this very colorful quilt. Since it is fairly busy, intricate quilting of the blocks may get a little lost. You might do a flower of geometric design in each of the blocks and something different for the pinwheels, maybe some SID, but that would be a lot of work. I think I would be inclined to use a thin, neutral colored thread like Bottom Line 620 on this, or even a mono like MonoPoly. That would let the quilt colors sing on their own and not show the thread up that much. I have to admit that I would be inclined to do an all-over and let the piecing speak for itself.

Linda