Warm & Natural and brown flakey bits

I have 3 quilts to do for a customer who gave me Warm and Natural batting for each one. While quilting the 1st quilt I kept getting a little drag every so often and my tension is weird. I noticed brown bits coming out of the backing and realized it's the batting that is giving me problems and that my needle must be hitting this stuff. I've never used it before and didn't really look closely at the batting with the 1st quilt. But, now I have the batting open for the 2nd one and can see all of the brown bits throughout it...... Has anyone had any experience using this stuff??:(

Susan

I have a roll of W&N here, but I haven't used it for a long while. I never noticed what you are describing. I just use it for dark fabrics, usually flannels where I want a little more thickness. I would never use it on lights and whites. Maybe it's a bad batch. I'd ask your customer to take it back and bring some Hobbs or other batting without the bits and twigs.

Here is a tip for next time--scrutinize the batting before loading for big pieces of debris--anything the size that could affect your machine is TOO big to be used and should be taken back to the store for a refund. Second point is--W&N should be loaded "dirty side up"--those debris pieces are on top and you shouldn't be able to push through to the back side. This loading with the bits up shows that this batting needs to be used with darker fabrics--anything light will have show-through. In a recent discussion here this batting was a topic. Warm & White is the same price but without the extra "nature"--much easier on me and my machine!

I use W&N all the time with no problems - however - I will say that about 6 months ago the roll of batting had large black blobs of thread in it. I had to pick these out before using the batting since it would show through on a light color quilt. Last bolt I got was fine....

Guest Linda S