Need advice - recommendations for Quilt Restoration

Laurie, my customer, has an old quilt that has some holes in a few blocks. This quilt is over 20 years old and I think some of the fabrics were not the best quality? Some fabrics faded, and some patches in the blocks are developing holes.

This quilt is a treasure to her and has a lot of sentimental value. She loves it dearly and she wants to get it repaired. When I dropped off the Venetian Tiles quilt today, she showed me this other quilt and asked me if I could fix it. I told her no, I am not experienced with restoring damaged quilts but that I could do some reasearch on the computer and see what I could find. She is willing to ship it to the L48 states to a reputable person who specializes in repairing torn quilt patches.

Do you have any good recommendations I could pass on to her?

Thanks in advance.

Shana, I'm going to try this on an old quilt which is quite damaged.. They say to take a good piece of the fabric that is destroyed and color copy it.. then print it onto cloth and make a piece of cloth to match.. Sew it into the quilt where it is needed, and go to the next piece. It would't be an authentic patch, but would in our case, make it usable.. it's not now. It was made by hubbys grandma back in the 50's or early 60s.

RitaR

I am in the same boat, a customer brought me her 30yo daughter's quilt, which must have been made in the 70's with cotton/poly shirting fabrics for the background and polyester in many prints for butterflies on each block! Mostly the butterflies are ok but the shirting is so thin in spots and some seams are open. This girl really loves this quilt and is having her first baby this week. Her Mom isn't sure who made the quilt, possibly a babysitter, they were in the military and moved a lot.