New questions

Oh my, I was at a quilt retreat for 3.5 days and it was really fun.  Re-entry was particularly tough, but they always are anyway.

First question:  What do you tell your clients who ask to see your quilting machine?  Do you let them?  I've read that most people don't.  This just happened last night and I didn't really know what to say so I asked her if it could wait until she picked up her quilt.  I don't have a pretty area at all...it's in the unfinished part of the basement.  I don't really mind people seeiing the machine but I don't want them to walk away with the idea that I'm not professional in any way.

Second question:  This quilt has a flange and she wants a piano key border.  Is it ok to SID at the edge of the flange in a color that matches or should I press the final border to the inside so that it's easier to SID on the edge of the border?  The flange is sage green and the border is black.

Thank you,

Joan

Joan, I am a newbie and can't really give you a professional opinion, but I would think that a customer would understand that such a large machine would most likely be in the basement, or an unfinished part of the house. I think if it was me I would just try to clean up the area as much as possible and perhaps decorate it a little so it looks like a "shop."  Maybe hang a quilt or two.  If she sees that the area is clean and her quilt will be treated well, she should be satisfied.  My machine is a sit down model and I managed to cram it into my sewing room.  lol   As far as the stitching on the border, I can't answer that but will be interested in the replies of others.  Would love to see a picture when you are done!