Flat Quilt top?

sciquilter

I am relatively new to longarm quilting. I have a APQS Millennium with stitch regulator and I just finished a quilt top - a square in a square foundation pieced "I Spy" child's quilt. When I finished it, my points all matched perfectly and the quilt could not have laid flatter - not a single bump or "blousy" block. I put it on the machine - pinned it and it really looked good. However, as I was quilting, I found that it just didn't lay flat in all places as I worked my way across the quilt. Some blocks appeared to be blousy than others and with an overall meandering stitch, some of the blocks just seemed to have excess fabric... I'm so disappointed.

What am I doing wrong? I have done other quilts (a drunkard's path) with a overall meandering and it came out great.

Any tips would be most helpful. I'm preparing to put a log cabin on the machine and I'm a little nervous.

Thanks in advance!

Mary

Mary,

Sometines the culprit isn't the top, it's the backing. If the backing isn't square on the top and the bottom, the quilting won't roll flat. If the side aren't square, it is very difficult sometimes to determine where the middlle of the quilt is so that you can pin it centrally. My customers rarely bring me a square backing...

Another thing that I do to keep things on track is to baste the left side of the quilt with the machine as I move down, so that the layers don't shift.

Does this help?

Kathy

Mary, If you suspect a quilt is not square (flat is good, but square is better) measure through the center like you were going to add borders, and compare that measurement to the edge.

If you are off more than an inch or so, measure from the center of your leaders- whatever 1/2 the center measurement was, and ease the quilt into that measurement. That will help square things up.

Another trick is to use a "loftier" batting. I like Hobbs 80/20 to help take up poochie-ness.

Good luck, you'll get good at "needy" tops after a while....