slightly wavy border!!

This is embarrasing. I made a wall hanging for my daughter in law and and it is beautiful...but...I am noticing that it has slightly wavy borders. Is there any way to correct this, after the fact? It already has the hanging sleeve attached. It has to have happened while quilting on the LA. It is 66x56, what do you suppose I did wrong. I am new to this and would like to hear from the experts. What usually causes this? The quilt top was square when I loaded it. Living and learning, Janey

Hi Janey,

Welcome to the longarm community!

Wavy borders are very frustrating. Since the quilt already has the binding on and a hanging sleeve, I can think of only one way to possibly fix the border issue--blocking the quilt.

Lay an old sheet on a carpeted floor. Place the quilt down on the sheet, and mist the quilt heavily with water. Now with non-rusting pins, begin pinning one edge of the quilt to the carpeting (just shove the pin straight in or at a slight angle so that you can put a little pressure on the quilt from the other direction). Put the pin into the quilt right along the binding seam. Use a yardstick to make sure you pin this first edge straight, and measure the length of the edge as well.

Now move to the opposite side of the quilt and pin it to the floor as well. Make sure you measure the distance between this edge and the other one you pinned earlier, and keep the distance the same. Also check that the border lengths are coming out the same.

Finally, repeat the pinning and measuring in the other direction. When you are finished, do one last check for "squareness", and measure across the diagonals of the quilt to make sure those numbers match.

Allow the quilt to completely dry in this position before you remove the pins.

Here are some things that could have caused wavy borders on a quilt that didn't start out that way:

[*] Overtightening the quilt on the rollers as you quilt