Hi,

This is my first time in a chat room. I have been thinking about a long arm for about a year, but haven't made they plunge... how did you all start out?? Did you buy a mid arm and work your way up? or a used long arm? or did you just go for it??

I plan on taking as many classes as possible @ the Manchester,N.H. show in the spring. Do they sell floor models @ a discount @the shows?

Any suggestions about classes/teachers??

Thanks for your thoughts.

Vittumhill::

Hi and welcome to the site. I hand quilted for years, then did a couple (maybe 10?) quilts on my regular sewing machine. I could tell that the strain on my neck and shoulders would be too much to keep that up, so I decided to look for a longarm. I did a lot of research on line -- didn't really try too many machines -- and bought my Liberty. I've never been sorry I did it!

Linda

Hi

I had only hand quilted and never tried a longarm before. I drooled over them for a couple of years before making the plunge. I went to an APQS convention with my hubby one day and he had told me "We aren't buying anything today! We are only looking!" I readily agreed. I was excited just to get my hands on them. I tried out all their machines as did he....imagine my surprise when he said, "Let's do it!" We ordered our Millennium then. I got my machine on Easter weekend and really love it. Have only done a couple of quilts on it, but have practiced alot. It takes a lot of practice to get comfortable...for those like me. Others take to LAing like a duck to water. Whatever you decide, GOOD LUCK!"

Hi,

I started with a short arm (Brother PQ1500 and Handiquilter) for several years before buying a long arm. Depending on what you want to do for quilting should determine what type of machine you should buy. Are you just interesting in doing a simple type of stitching on quilts for yourself and family? Are you interested in doing quilts as a business?