cut backing too short!!!

Hi! I just had to vent!! I am kicking myself like crazy!! I just cut a backing too short! I was trimming it down a little cause it was too big to begin with (not any more:o) well, I didn't take into consideration that it was folded over and I cut 22'' instead of 11''! AAARRRGGGHHHH!!!! Luckily the lady I am doing this for has a little shop, so she has more material . Needless to say, I am buying the material I cut wrong and I have to go over and get another piece in the morning. I wanted to get at least the back on the frame tonight, but I guess that's what I get when trying to do math stuff when I'm tired! I'm not good at it when I'm rarin' to go!! OK! thanks for letting me vent!:) linda

Oh Linda! I think lots of us feel your pain--and it doesn't matter whether I'm tired or not--the math is hard for me! When I'm working on something for someone else the stress just kills me! I actually make a drawing of a piece of fabric--and the cuts....and am still perfectly capable of cutting it wrong. You are fortunate to be able to go get another piece of the fabric! The quilt will be fabulous! and--as Kay said--you have more fabric for yourself! and...we all know that's not the worst thing we can do--not by a long shot! Have fun quilting--tomorrow!! Jane

I have actually managed to do this two times in one week. I have also turned a quilt backing wrong on loading so it would have been fine but then I ran out with plenty on the sides. Now I label the pieces top of backing or whatever it is. I hand pieced the extra piece on because I didn't want to unload the quilt. It looked fine.