To Prewash or not to prewash?

Hi. I am not normally a prewasher, but I may have to with this one. Wanted to get some other opinions....

Okay, I am getting ready to work on a large wholecloth quilt. Top is a hand dyed fabric, has been rinsed and washed. The back is new 100% cotton sateen. Should I wash the sateen?

I know I am answering my own question here, because I know I probably should wash it. But I just don't want to deal with the whole 3 1/2 yds. Any suggestions on how to prewash it without it getting too tangled?

Thanks!

I'm not an expert on pre-washing (you can probably guess why!!:P) but Alex Anderson says to snip each corner on the diagonal--just a small triangle of fabric the size of your little fingernail--and the fabric won't unravel as badly. For the wash, you only need to remove the sizing and chemicals so just a rinse is all you need and then spin. Damp-dry and press. There ya go!

I pre-wash everything just to be safe. Fabrics will shrink at different rates so when piecing you could end up with wonky blocks. And I don't care how well they say fabric is made these days, I don't like to take chances with the dye bleeding. Everytime I've skip the pre-wash, I've been sorry.

I am a pre-washer. Just bought some Jelly Rolls and 10" layer cakes. Now what do I do? Didn't think about the washing until I got them home. Would you put them in a pillowcase and wash on gentle - soak or what? Has anyone any suggestions?

Has anyone had experience washing these before construction? I don't like surprises so have always washed.

Marilyn

Just curious, Tina or any of you pre-washers.

If you pre-wash the fabric, will you be pre-washing the batt. After the whole cloth is done and you soak it to remove your markings, will that give you any problems? I'm sure that you will block the quilt but do you have any tips or secrets you are willing to share about the soak, spin, stretch and pin method? :cool:

Here is my take for what it is worth.