What is a nice allover freehand pattern to try???

Hi,

I want to practice an allover freehand design, but dont really know what to start with.

Any ideas for a nice and easy one for a fairly new longarmer, I am finding it a bit difficult to think of some other than swirls.

Thanks

:)

Thanks for the suggestions and I have now had chance to give them a go. I love the flower bump meander Shana which I will keep practicing at.

I am not sure exactly what paisley looks like, but I think I have a similar thing mastered now. Thanks.

I havent seen Jamie Wallens meandering though Heidi, is there anywhere where I can see this in action or sewn out online?

Thanks you are all so helpful.

Hi Janette,

I've been enjoying Dawn Ramirez DVD, Pajama Quilter Reloaded. She has some great overall freehand quilting motifs on this DVD. Maybe you have this DVD?

This is one of her designs I just did on this fleece quilt. Freehand "Wonky Feathers". I've also played with her "Dwirling" design.

Next I want to try her flowers.

I'm and 'average' quilter, and do a lot of scrappy type quilts and find her quilting designs suitable for a lot of my projects.

post--13461904092782_thumb.jpg

Oh, I love your feathers.. makes it look so relaxed and comfy to bundle in..

I take it this your own free hand meandered feathers? You sure did well with it.

I l9ike to draw a curvy line and put a leaf on one side, a couple loops further on. about 3-4"of meander then a couple more loops, or leaves, or flowers.. etc.. I also like the Funky Freehand Stars, where none of them are alike or the same size, though close. meander, small meander, micromeander hard on the eyes.

Keep practicing and you will do fine.

RitaR

You can't go wrong with Darlene Epp's trilogy-- called Pocket Guides to Freehanding--one is fillers, one is overall meanderings, and the third is borders/sashing. Her designs are great with arrows to show direction. A must-have investment for a new longarmer.