Extended Base

I want to increase the size of my base plate for a Lenni. With all these creative minds on this forum I know I'll get help. I read of bases for other models but not Lenni. I'm no engineer, so I need exact measurements and plans. One place I think I would have trouble would be around the needle plate, getting a good fit. I recall one that was made by a father made of wood (maybe in Hawaii?) and another in KC area made by ex husband. KC is Kansas City. And I think Rita's husband, Himself, may have made her one, not sure. But any help here would be appreciated.

My husband made me an extended base out of 1/4" perspex/plexiglass. We traced around the needle plate, thread cutter onto paper, cut it out and checked it was the right size before tracing onto plexiglass. He then cut the plexiglass with a special router bit( may have been cheaper to get a made one from US), Glued supports to the underside. It slides on/off easily, no screws to mess with.

I had to raise my leveller bar a bit, but I love the extra flat surface I have all around my needle. 5" in front 6-8" beside and behind. I leave it on most of the time.

Lyn

Lyn,

That's what I want to do but, I'm not sure I can get the very narrow groove around the plate that Lenni would require to give a flush/level/even fit around the plate. And, I'm not sure how to attached it without a wooble/snug fit. I will experiment with a template and have it cut where I buy the plexiglass and hopefully it will not be so expensive that I can't do it until I get it right.:D

Yes Barbara, that is the one I saw. Thank you for responding. You have a Millie; is there a problem with the base being raised above the needle plate like that, or is that just the picture? I have a Lenni and the raised area is a minute fraction, maybe 1/32 and this is what concerns me. What are the measurements of yours?

Thank you so much.

Janice,