Advice on TShirt quilting

I have just completed a TShirt quilt for my son with some very ratty shirts bonded with fusible interfacing. Certainly it needs SID but the squares are up to 16" and will need some center work as well. Am I asking for trouble doing this on the longarm? I am concerned about the thickness of those squares as well as the seams where there is some 'rolling' of the knit fabric (latticed with cotton). I am a certified newbie with great trepidation and any advice or experience would be most welcome!

Caroline

Caroline,

I have done a ton of t-shirt quilts. I stabilize the entire block with an iron on interfacing. Then I apply sashing between the blocks and a border around the quilt - that way there is are no stretchy edges. I usually use a panto - Which Way Did They Go, or I meander over the whole quilt - never SID. Too much trouble.

Caroline,

I know what you mean by trepidation. I did one a few

months ago. It was big and heavy and the corners of the

blocks were bulky. I wanted to stabilize the blocks so I did a

fun wavy line with some loops in between each block. SID

on a T-shirt quilt is w-a-y too much trouble. I looped around

(not thru) the corners that were really bulky to avoid that big

bump that is inevitable with that much fabric. But the rest of

the block corners I just stitched slowly thru.

The blocks were quite large so I felt like they needed some

sort of anchoring. I echoed around the design as best I

could. I wanted to avoid stitching thru that heavy screening

they use on some t-shirts. The quilt came out nice.

I try to make it a habit to change my needles with each

quilt. Sometimes I forget. ;) I made sure that I did not forget

to do that after this quilt. The stabilizer on the back of the

t-shirts is supposed to be OK to quilt thru but I didn't really

see any kind of gunk on my needle.

I guess I would say to go slow, you'll be fine.