Help! First time quilter

Hi I'm a first time quilter and I've almost completed my T-shirt quilt top and I have questions about batting and the backing.  I'd like to have an outside boarder, which i've researched and have a general idea of how to attach it.  My quilt top is roughtly 70x70, closer to 63x67.  What is the best/ easiest batting to use for a beginner.  I want something with a low loft.  I think that makes a thinner quilt? Please correct me if I'm wrong.  Right now I'm looking at a batting that comes in 72x72 but says they can be 10" apart.  I'm not sure what that means and is it a good idea to use fusable batting?  I'm using a machine, which I'm new at too, so the easier it is to use with it will be great!  I really don't want to sew it all by hand, which is a possiblilty, so any advice or suggestions would be great!

Thanks in advance!!!

I assume you have a longarm to use for the quilting? Don't use fusible batting if that's the case. The backer, batting, and top are separate on the longarm.

If you're quilting on a domestic, you can use fusible batting instead of basting the three layers.

Low loft batting is the best for T-shirt quilts because of the extra weight of the top. A thin poly would work well. Cotton will be too heavy.

The quilting distance listed on the batting wrapper simply tells you the farthest apart your quilting lines can be and still have a nice result. But be assured that you'll need to stitch closer together than that and will want an even density of stitching all over the quilt.

Just about any batting that you'll find at a quilt shop will work. Poly battings available at Joanns are perfectly acceptable, but open it as soon as you get it home to check for uneven patches or thin spots so you can return it right away. Quality varies by brand and also within lots. Also check to make sure the batting doesn't tear or thin out when tugged. It will need to stand up to smoothing and tugging when on the frame.