Photo of commission

This is one that a dad asked me to make for his 19 year old daughter for a surprise Christmas gift. She is studying Marine Biology and is a scuba dive instructor, so many of the fabrics resemble water, bubbles, sand, etc. He wants it to be something she can pass down as an hierloom.

If it were your job, how would you quilt it? Please realize that I am new to this, but enjoy freehand work, and I don't own any of the Circle Lord, or Hartley gizmos. I do have a base extender, and straight rulers, and some different size circle plexiglas patterns. I am still very rustic with feathers. I really want to do a nice job on this.

It is queen size, with 11.5" blocks, and 14" borders.

Thanks for any input you can give me on quilting designs.

post--13461898395655_thumb.jpg

Karol, this is beautiful. So much movement in this quilt. Are you comfortable with pantographs? I would suggest an all over edge to edge panto. However, with those borders, you can probably do something spectacular such as feathers and then meandering throughout the blocks. These are simple suggestions and I'm not near as experienced or talented as a lot of the quilters at this site and you will probably get some better ideas, but those are the things that come to mind right now. Good luck!

Gable

Karol--

That is one gorgeous top! Beautiful piecing!

Just a suggestion for the quilting--- because of the "sea theme" maybe include a water meander. Also, there must be a seashell panto out there that could be done on those nice wide borders. When you do a simple/open panto you can always add extra stitching to really take it up to custom level. Maybe add a pebbles texture or an echo of the shells.

Do you do a lot of commissions? You have done a great job on this one!

Linda Rech

Following that sea theme, as Linda said, there several seahell pantos. The ones I have used would alos work as a border....of coourse, there isn't much that wouldn't work on those BIG borders.