What I learned this time.

BUT I had problems. I was mean with the backing fabric. We used the left over blocks to make a centre strip for the backing so there was very little extra.

I stitched through 2 flower pin heads as I was too close to the pick up leader fabric.

I then found that the extended base caught on the pins on the front backing roller and I got wobbly lines as a result. I also got caught up down the sides when I hit the pieced bit of backing.

What do others do.? Next time I would add a 6" strip around the backing so that I was a long way from the edges when quilting. Is this a normal problem or am I just being stupid?

post--1346189918571_thumb.jpg

Hi Yvette,

I have run into pins in the past also and it is quite a shock to see my expensive machine hitting a pin....I am a newbie and was taught that I should sew down each side prior to moving into the quilt, meaning there are no pins on the edges at that time for hitting....Is the norm for everyone? apparently not? but then I read somewhere else it creates problems internally in the quilt sandwich, ie. stretching, so maybe the pin route is the best even if they can be ran into...I\'ll be watching for answers also as i would like to know....Thanks, Denise

Yvette, you have no fear, girl. I was afraid to touch a ruler my first year. You go, girl. Did you stitch into the leader too. I hate when that happens. Only once. But I like your meander and what I could see of your cross hatch looks good. I do all my crosshatching with a Circle Lord. That does not require nearly the skill level that rulers do. :D