Need a class

Okay all. I really need to take a class. I mostly need just a hands on class with another human so I can get some pointers. What would you suggest? I am a self-taught quilter and am new to the LA. Unfortunately, I am not personally aquanted with anyone else who is a quilter. I am willing to travel if needed. Just need some suggestions on where to go to get a good overview of the basics. I feel as I am wasting a lot of time making mistakes and redoing things because I don't know enough. Thanks for any suggestions. (I am not ready for any formal classes like you all participate in, just something hands on and basic.)

APQS dealer near you? Michigan: DeLoa Jones? Debbie Cadwallender? Both are in Michigan. Both probably teach classes. Give them a call.

Here's their contact info:

http://www.apqs.com/dealers.php?country=us&stateprovince=Michigan

Another thing that is terrific is to buy some of the basic DVDs that are produced. For example:

Myrna Ficken http://aquilterschoice.danemcoweb.com/shop/product/beginning-longarm-quilting/

Kim Brunner https://www.canadianlongarmsupplies.com/index.php?crn=352

I have both of these "beginner" DVDs and I gotta tell ya...THEY ARE BOTH AWESOME!!!

Both cover completely different things, but both are basic, beginner DVDs. :)

Myrna Ficken's Begginer quilting DVD is the BEST!! I watched it lots before I even got my machine, and it wasn't so intimidating when I did get it! I have learned ALLOT from her video and I am still watching it and still learning from it. WELL worth the money!!!! Just like being in the classroom!!

Thanks soooo much for all of your suggestions. I just scheduled a class with Debbie Cadwallender for the 22nd. I really wanted to go to Camp Mowana, but was afraid I was too much of a newbie. Think I will call and check that out as well. And, Myrna's DVD is on my list. Thanks again. You are all great!