Need Advice Before Starting A Quilt

gable428

I am about to start a full size all batik quilt using Superior Bottom Line thread on the top and bottom. What size needle should I use and any other tips you can offer would be appreciated. I have never done an all batik quilt before and have heard it can be a challenge. I just don't want to struggle through the whole thing:o Thank you!

My machine is a Gammill so I can only speak Gammillease. However, I will caution you: Don't make a mistake that you have to frog! My experience is that it leaves holes that are not easy to tease back together. Ask me how I know this.

There was a thread a while back about quilting batiks. Anyone remember?

I also have an all batik coming up, actually two of them. My machine runs best with a size 18 needle and I always use either Signature 40 or poly core. I just make sure the needle is a fresh new one, and adjust tension accordingly. I may even change needles in the middle just to make sure it's pointy enough.

Some of your APQS machines can run smaller needles with no problem. I know there are discussions about this.

Edit: I just noticed you have a Nolting. sorry

Good luck and please post a picture when it's done.

I did a King Size quilt that was all batiks including the backing.

I had to rip out a row and 1/2.:( Took me 8 hrs to rip.

I explained what happened to my sewing mechanic and this is what Greg told me.

Use a bigger needle. I used a size 20. I have a Nolting PRO also.

Use Sewers Aid or Silicone spray on the thread,needle and thread in the bobbin.

I used Sewers Aid.

one drop on 2 sides of the thread in the bobbin.

2 straight lines down the side of the spool of thread.

one drop on my finger and then coat the needle. I coated the needle after each row.

I had no trouble after that.

If you have a spray,spray the top and back.spray he thread and needle. The spray with not stain or damage the fabric.

Hope this helps

Hi Gable~