Entering Quilt Shows

Okay...I'm not saying I am....but if you were to enter a quilt show, would you make sure the backing fabric was all the same, or could you put two different fabrics on the back as long as they "went" with the fabrics on the top??

Is this an elementry question I should already know? :o

I was going to call Linda Card....but it is 8:45 am at her house...I don't think she would like me if I did that ;)

It's good to see you up and about and thinking about quilting!

I have no experience entering a quilt show, but I'm fixin' to. (:D Learned that expression when I lived in Texas.) Our guild is having their show the end of October so I am going to enter one or two quilts, depending on what I get accomplished. I don't expect to win anything but I know people are coming to see quilts, and I'll get feedback.

Regarding the backing, if I were to enter a quilt in a show and don't have enough fabric for the back I would piece the back to be pretty - not necessarily another quilt top, but a pleasing arrangement of additional fabrics that complimented the top. I would try to arrange it so the sleeve matched the backing also. That's the voice of inexperience and I anxiously await responses from others who have entered quilts in shows.

Oh boy do we...they say they are not the police...but do one thing wrong on a quilt and you might as well be under arrest ;):D

I always make sure the back is the same...but my stepson's quilt is 116" + 8" for clamps...I need 124" and the fabric I have ordered is 108", I thought I got a great deal and realized I didn't order enough. I ordred 3 1/2 yards but thought I was ordering 7 yards..then I realized they sell in 1/2 yards - how stupid is that....they know we always buy in 1 yard increments if we need it of not!! :D

Mary Beth,