Charge for Tucks?

Hi.

I may be ready to charge for taking tucks in customers' mitered corners. Thought I'd check in with all of you to see how you handle this. I'm still new at this and just don't know how best to handle this.

Personally, I never mind giving a top little help here or there. No quilt is perfect, so I usually do one minor fix for free, and explain what and why.

I do not like to add a ton of "extras" but when you spend a half hour fixing - not quilting - you have to do something. I'm thinking of $5/per tuck...after the free first fix. What do you think????

Thanks for any thoughts!

Lisa

APQS Liberty

NJ

I'm sure you will get a dozen answers, but I never charged for something like this, just did it.

Now, why not you ask.....mostly because I didn't want to ruffle feathers and I needed my studio quilts to even buy a quart of milk, and a loaf of bread. Also I know from talking to other LA quilters that they lost customers, because the customers thought that they were to picky and were gripping about every little thing they did wrong.

I have a motto....if you give me a really wonked out quilt, and I can't fix it with a little steam and a ton of starch, its going to be quilted in the manner and fashion you brought it to me in. I can only do so much "Miracle Work" and then you are on your own. I haven't every had to take an actual tuck in anything, I was pretty much able to either splite the difference over a space or get it pretty much out with my steam and starch, but there were many many tucks that were left in or quilted down from quilters leaving blocks that weren't ironed/pressed correctly and there wasn't any way to fix it without taking it totally apart. If borders got wonked or dog earred because they didn't take care of how they put them on, it was quilted like that and then they could/would have to square the quilt back up before putting on the binding.