Zips, canvas & saggy leaders

Just a couple of questions........

I've spent hours (& hours) today attaching my new zips purchased at MQX. It looked so simple in the instructions but proved to be very fiddly! Anyway its done now:)

I'm concerned that the sides of the zips may get tatty quite quickly, so do any of you attach canvas to the half of the zip that you pin the quilt onto?

I've also noticed that my leaders are very saggy in the centre (tighter at each end), is this normal or is there something I need to do to?

Still going through my MQX purchases & have some lovely books left to browse, just need the time........;)

Angie,

I attached grossgrain ribbon to my zippers and attach my quilt parts to that. That way when the ribbon wears out I can just replace it. This ribbon does not stretch and I've been using the same ribbon for more than 2 years so works wonderful. I would also suggest using a coloring system. 1 color used to attach the backer and 1 to attach the upper. Just helps keep it straight. Of course ordering a set of flip zippers is always wonderful because invariably I end up putting them on backwards!

As for the saggy leaders. I would zip the zipper of the backer bar to the take-up bar and roll back and forth stretching it out. That should help resolve the issue. I did go through re-squaring my leaders but that would mean re-doing your zippers. There was a thread by Tina Collins on how to square up your leaders. I did find that one end was off by 1/4".

Thanks Heidi, the ribbon idea sounds brilliant & at least I'll be able to do it on my DSM! Haven't looked at flip zippers yet as I'm not doing customer quilts & at the moment don't have a great deal of time to practice.

I'll try the zipping & rolling but have realised one end of the take up leader does seem to be approx. 1/4" out. Must admit I've decided to ignore it at the moment! Hope I don't regret this.....