Guild challenge

Our guild is doing a paint chip challenge this year. A paint chip with three colors is pulled from a bag. You may add one color to the three colors from the paint chip, for a total of four colors. The colors I chose are leading me to want to make a wall hanging out Dupioni silk fabrics to make the boring four colors more interesting.

I've never worked with Dupioni silk before. I would like to add as much interest to the quilt as I can by using different techniques of applique and embellishing, so I'm wondering are there any good books to look into? And any tips for working with Dupioni? Is it even reasonable to think I can applique with it, raw edge and freezer paper? Any tips you can offer would be most welcomed!

Oh I'm so interested to see how this turns out for your Bonnie.  I have been contemplating a silk quilt for quite some time but have yet to jump in and do it.  Would love to know what colors you got (unless you're keeping it a surprise).  I actually have been a little leary of silk because it is so delicate and was thinking about using Kaufmann's Radience fabric.  Can't wait to see how this turns out for you.

I think Claudia Pfeil (sp) uses silk alot.  Maybe she will give us ideas.  I have used it for a whole cloth and it worked fine, but for applique the edges do fray badly and would need to be turned I would think.  As for piecing, I don't know about stretch, but maybe a stabilizer so it doesnt unravel beyond the stitches.  But a little bit and play with it. 

Not much help, but thought I would throw in my 2 cents.

Shirley

I haven't worked with silk, but our guild did do this challenge.  We limited the size and had them all displayed as a grouping for our quilt show.  We also had a twist in that 75% of the quilt had to be the colors on the card, but we could add some contrast with our own spin.  It is a great challenge and really interesting to see how many can think outside of the box!!  Have fun with it!