Hi Ladies!

I have been quilting now for about 1 1/2 years now and am filling taxes for the first full year of business and I was wondering how you all go about write-offs (deductions) for thread, batting, and fabric, etc. If you buy something (say a cone of thread), but don't use all of it, do you deduct all of it, or just the part you used? Can you deduct the rest the next year or how does this work? Confused--Does anyone out there know for sure how this works?

Thanks!

Luv2Kwilt

APQS Millennium

Agree. Good advice from Merry Jo.

I'd rather spend my valuable time quilting rather than pulling my hair out figuring out tax laws. And, I'd rather spend my money on a CPA (which by the way is also a business tax deduction). I will sleep better knowing it's all done correctly.

If I get audited a few years down the road by Mr. IRS and he discovers that I didn't file my taxes correctly and guess what...now I have to pay more in back taxes...well, that would not be very fun and I'd probably get a little cranky. Not a good thing! ;):P

I send mine to a CPA...it is to confusing with my husbands income...for us it is well worth paying an accountant.

Sorry, couldn't be much help...I do know he is depreciating my machines (millie, compuquilter and Libby) over the course of 2 years or more to help zero out my income.

Cheryl Mathre

Stone Creek Quilting

Sandy Hook, VA

You should have a starting inventory at the beginning of the year and an ending inventory at the beginning of the next year...keep track of all purchases, maintanance fees, home utilities, shop supplies , postage, advertising fees, shipping costs, mileage, .....just keep track of everything that seems to be related to your business..then when you go to your tax person, they will let you know what is deductable etc.