Problems with top thread pulling to back.

quilted charm

I have been quilting with my milli for 8 years and just recently started having a problem with the machine pulling the top thread to the back, and getting caught up in the hook and bobbin area.  I would have to cut the thread and then pick out the thread that was in the hook assembly.  I thought it must be a timing issue, so I redid the timing.  It got worse!  Now the top thread goes to the back, and  makes a big knotted mess, and then continues on as if nothing happened. Then occasionally, there will be a big loopy stitch.  It doesn't actually skip a stitch, just leaves a loop, then continues on with normal stitches for a while.   When I pulled the last quilt off the frame, it had these "knots" about every foot or so of quilting.  When I cut the knots out, it takes some of the stitches out. I would post photos, but the lady really wants her quilt so I already trimmed all the mess.  (I should mention I was using King Tut thread.  Normally, I use Glide)    Any ideas?

Have you WD40 cleaned the hook area recently.  Some old lint may have collected causing a problem.  If you did that, As King Tut is cotton, I would look for a tiny burr on the hook assembly.  My guess something small that is catching the not so slick cotton, but is not an issue with Glide.  Best of luck to you.

Cagey

Leslie:  It sounds like your top tension might be too loose.  When I run Glide or Sigma or the like, I have to loosen my top tension to keep from breaking the thread.  When I switch back to my usual YLI Longarm Professional, if I don't tighten the top tension up again, I get results like your describe.  Give the tension adjustment a try and see if your results don't improve.  Good luck.  Jim

17 hours ago, Cagey said: