MQX classes

quiltingtina

Hi all!

I am going to MQX in April. This is my first time. I am looking at which classes to register for, and I need some help.

I am still relatively a newbie. I've been at this a little over a year now. How many classes should I take? One a day, two a day? I just don't want to get brain overload by taking too many, and I do want to have time to enjoy the show too.

I'm so excited to be going!

Hi Tina,

I have been to 2 shows so far, so not an expert. I can only tell you about the mistakes I\'ve made so maybe you can benefit from that. I have to fly to a show and spend $ for a hotel so I try to cram as many classes in as I can in the 2 or 3 days I will be at the show. I signed up for 7 classes in 2 days at Innovations last year and was drained by class 5. I did the same thing with 9 classes at MQS. Some folks just don\'t learn from their mistakes. :o Here are some tips:

--Pace yourself. You may want a break between classes to help digest what you just learned or to reinforce your notes before the material from your next class buries the content from the first class. It all blurs together otherwise.

--Read the class description carefully before you sign-up to ensure it fits your needs and experience level. I got into a backgrounds and borders class at MQS where the instructor pretty much focused on the 6 (out of 30) students who had Statler Stitchers. It was not an SS class. :(

--Keep your brain working by choosing a variety of classes; some on techniques, add some motif classes and don\'t forget some backgrounds and border classes.

--Be sure to take your digital camera to class and ask if it is OK to photograph class examples after class. A photo always helps me remember a technique or idea.