Essential Gadgets & Tools

I'm a newbie, awaiting the assembly of my previosly loved, factory certified Millie. My DH was going to help me put her together today, however our DS called and before I knew it my DH and DS are off to cut wood today :( . Be that as it may, I am looking for some insight on which tools y'all would consider essential. I purchased the large Hartley base expander with my machine, but that is all and I know I will need more tools than that to get started. I can get started on ordering "essential tools" while the boys cut wood.

Kim R.

IF you can start with Bonnie's starch and steam, that will be a blessing if you do this for a business. Buy Superior threads to start with, call and ask them what their bissest sellers are and that willl give you a heads up. Get their thread cards for reference.

The very, very best thing that you can do is to play with your machine and that means thread, different heights and types of battings and backings. That's the very very best. You can , if you must order, order some whole cloth quitls to practice on, or you can get the panel lengths of fabric and practice stitching around the motif's.

It's hard not to want to have all the toys at first. Make sure your lighting is more than adequate, that is a big deal in how your work turns out. Sometimes the boring stuff is what makes the biggest difference. REmember, ppp.