SID or NOT

Ok, first I hope this is a smaller photo. I keep trying and it comes out too big.

I have already echoed the applique throughout the quilt top.

Now I am about to fill in around the blocks.

I wasn't sure if I should SID each block and then treat each one independently or treat as one background and ignore the seams. Either way would look good I suppose but what would the experienced quilter do?

The seamed blocks go around a much larger center applique block.

Thanks again.

post--13461897798174_thumb.jpg

I'm just a rookie. I like the echo, it relly highlights the applique, I think.

But I think that I would treat the center as one big block and SID around the outside of the center applique blocks to define it and separate it from the other blocks and really have fun quilting that center.

Since there is no sashing to separate the blocks, I would be tempted to

treat the rest of the quilt as one block and do some cross-hatching.

Thats my 2cents worth.

Hi Tammie,

What a beautiful quilt. I think I would stitch around the applique and then pick a background design and do it everywhere. It will keep the applique the focal point.

Just as a side note, when I need to go around applique like that. I put my base expoander on to give myself a stable area to work and use my micro-drive. With my machine on slow I can sit and get right in the line of the stitching. It looks beautiful.

Myrna

What a gorgeous quilt!

I would treat the back ground as if there were no seams.

If you have already SID around the applique and in the border, I think that should stabilize it enough.

Would love to see an "after" picture, too!

Sherri Dolly

Overland Park, KS

Micro-Drive handles were developed by Marilyn Badger and are wonderful for stitching around applique and also for outlining printed fabric shapes. I find it most comfortable to sit at my drafting stool and rest my forearms on the "top" roller.