so happy in Oregon

Hi, I just bought my first Utilmate 1 used machine. Can't wait to start quilting!!!! I have been renting a Gamill for the last 6 years. Anyone out there use rulers and can tell me a good place to buy them? The machine has been in storage for the last 5 years, living with mice all over it. A little rust on the frame, but when I tried the machine she started up just fine. Sewed wonderful after I got the tension fixed, a little stiff to move. Is there anything I should be looking for as far as mice are concerned?

I would open her up if you can and make sure there are no nests or little things the mice may have stored inside....we just had a class on our APQS machines at MQX and they did find a bunch of jellybeans that mice had stored inside a machine once - who knew?

As far a rulers go - my favorites are Deloas, try this website: http://www.deloasquiltshop.com/

I like her boomerangs for curves and my other fav is the itty bitty at http://store.offtheedgequilting.com/ittybitty.html

Welcome to the forum!

Welcome and congrats on getting your machine set up!

Advice on mice? I guess look everywhere, blow everythig out with an air compressor, and watch for baby mice?;)

As for rulers--Pat Noonan in Salem is an independent associate for Quilter's Rule and anything you like on their website can be looked at and demo-ed. She is active on the chat and such a smart and sweet woman!

And for the best welcome--Moxies!! You must come to a meeting when you can.