Skill difference btwn L.A. & reg. mach?

Hi, I'm a newbie who is planning to purchase a L.A. in a few months if my experiments with my Bernina turn out good. I'd like to hear from some who've switched from a regular machine to a Long Arm, who used to machine quilt with their regular machine. Does it make a lot of difference if you were experienced already at machine quilting with the little machine to whether you did well with the big machine? Of course, I'm sure everybody here LOVES their L.A., which is why you're all here, right? But I just wondered if I should take a lot of time building skills on my Bernina before venturing to the way expensive Long Arm.....?

Patty :)

I was told the skills don't transfer at all, by many people. I disagree. If you have used a regular machine on a frame (so you are moving the machine not the quilt) then yes you are learning something useful. If you do this for a while I think you will run into some limitations of the regular machine, mainly the small throat stopping you. This will just make you want the longarm more.

If you are quilting with the machine static and moving the quilt I think you will get less benefit. It is all good for learning designs but moving the machine is very different fo moving the quilt.

I suspect you will get different opinions from other people, I do tend to be different, but that is my perspective.

Ferret

I started quilting on my Bernina 440. I didn't use a frame, just moved the quilt by hand. I think some of the skills transfer, such as movement in pace with the machine. My Bernina has the stitch regulator but you still need to keep in time with the machine some. Other than that I wouldn't say that any other skill transfered. I will practice drawing a design on paper and have realized that quilting that design is easier and looks better than my drawing.

Good luck.