Pls help with my decision on long arms

Quilters - please help me as I am fairly new in the quilting world. I purchased a Mega Quilter a year ago to see if I had the skill to perform long arm quilting. My friends were very impressed on how quickly I was able to pick this up. I have quilted about 10 quilts over the past 8 months and with all the frustrations I have had with my mega quilter with tension problems and the limitations with this machine I've decided to move up into a bigger system.

This is where I'm torn, I thought moving into the HQ 16 would suit my needs esp for the price factor involved. However with reading many forums I see that many are moving up from the HQ into the more professional APQS systems or a GAmmill, etc... The price is the main factor that scares me, in order for me to move into a Millennium it would cost around $14,000 for a used machine, this is a major financial cost factor vs moving into a HQ for around $7,000. Is there really that much difference between the 2 systems to justify this major cost difference especially in retrieving your cost before being able to make a profit. I'm hoping to retire in the next 3 years and wish to make this a part time business venture. Am I making a big mistake in taking these steps slowly to establish my clientale before jumping into this financial burden that I hear from so many.. Should I take the big plunge or consider the middle of the road, like purchasing a Discovery... Any help you can offer would be wonderful...

Cindy,

I don't think anyone would ever tell you what you should or shouldn't do...its a personal thing, you will only know what you can and can't afford....how much you will be using the machine. You are the only one who will know if you have the business in your area...do you have a customer base now? You say you have done 10 quilt...but you didn't mention if they were for yourself or others...