Pin stabilizing -- is this enough?

I'm still new to custom quilting and if a customer asks if I do custom, the answer is no. But every once in a while I find someone that wants a quilt done and they aren't looking for a masterpiece, and if they have seen something I have done and are fine with my work and can twist my arm, I will take them on.

And the headache and sleepless nights begin as I have taken another on! LOL

I have plans on quilting this quilt in order (with the exception of the borders which I would like to do last) but do need to roll a little bit as all the blocks are set on point and the squares are a little on the large side. I have pinned the border across the top and down part of the sides and have SID around some of the on-point squares and setting triangles but need to advance to do a little more SID before beginning the first row of quilting.

So here's my question:

Do I have this thing stabilized enough with pins so that I can roll the quilt a bit and finish SID'ing the first and part of the second row before quilting? I don't want any wonkies!

post-5206-0-05955600-1361233172_thumb.jpg

You have pinned it into submission! :P

Here's my take on pin-stabilizing--if I'm going to leave a border to quilt last, I'll pin baste it regularly--as you have done. Maybe not quite so close together and I would use pins with smaller heads. I use yellow glass-heads and many swear by the yellow flower-heads since they lay flat and are easy to see. You have over-pinned a bit, but it's all stable and that's what counts.

You only need to stabilize with pins in the interior until you've done your SID or other quilting. Then the pins can be removed to use in the next section. I square and pin-baste each quilting field. I make sure everything is straight--especially the horizontal seams and the vertical border seams. The borders will stay pinned until quilted. 

The quilt looks very pretty and you'll make it even better with your quilting!