baby t-shirt quilt

My daughter has given me a big bin of her most precious baby clothes from her daughter. The idea is that I am supposed to make a sort of t-shirt memory quilt.  I am a relative newbie, so I am a little overwhelmed.  My plan is to make 8 inch squares when the piece is big enough, 4 inch squares when the piece is small, and even some rectangles for some of the shirts that have a long name or something like that on them. I would distribute these throughout, and try to use some of the cuter details, such as a cute little pocket, on some of the pieces. It is mostly knits so I will iron on a fusible to stabilize the fabrics.  We will then go shopping for a border and backing that coordinates.  She does not want sashing.  I have stripes, prints, solids, lots of pink.  Does it sound like I am on the right track?  I am going to use my Accuquilt Go to sort of "fussy cut" out the pieces.  I have lots of different prints, I can do anything I want, and I have NO time limit.   Any advice or ideas welcome at this point!!  Thank you!

It sounds like you're on the right track! Great ideas to use all the special parts and pieces.

I would recommend a trial for using the Accuquilt for cutting the squares. No way to know how it will handle a knit with fusible on the back unless you do a sample. I wouldn't try the knit without the fusible.

Have fun and this will be so special!

I really like that idea it sounds adorable. I made a memory quilt for one of my friends using her Mother and Fathers clothes. She loves that quilt she told me it means alot to her. She lost her Mother 14 years ago and her Father a year ago. I used stabilizer on the knits that is a must everything will play so much better for you :)

Please post pictures when you have it finished. I'm sure it will be beautiful.

Marti