how do you manage your time?

Help! This is the 2nd time I have tried to get my business working efficiently. My problem is taking control of my time. Last time I ended up closing my business because my grandchildren needed me. Right now I work at a shop, doing trade shows and making samples. I cut back shop hours to build my business. My Business is picking up, but I can see how I can quickly lose control. How do you manage your time?

I feel for you.  I cannot help you with this one because me life is so different from yours.  I am on disability, and my time, and what I am doing, is totally based on how much pain I am in.  On good days, I sew, on bad days, I do handwork or watch tv.  It is as simple as that.  Could you set a certain number of hours per week, a certain schedule made to fit in after your job, that is dedicated to your business and nothing else?

I have a degree in procrastination! Well, I would have a degree if i could just concentrate and take that last class so I can graduate!! :D

If you have the discipline to stick to a schedule and are able to train the family/friends that your working hours are for working, that would be key. 

Then manage your customer quilting by getting a handle on your available hours per month and estimate how long it'll take to quilt a specific quilt. Fill the slots you have set aside for quilting. Say you have 15 hours per week realistically available to quilt. If you have a big overall to quilt and figure it'll take six hours to finish, fill six hours plus intake and pick-up time into your weekly allotment. That leaves maybe 7 or 8 hours of quilting time left for the week. You can finish an easy one or start a big custom that will run over into the next week. If you underestimate the time needed, you'll be playing catch-up, but having some flexibility built into the schedule will help.