Hi, newbie here - I have a couple of questions. I finally used a prewound bobbin and had a separate bobbin case I planned to keep just for prewounds, so the backlash spring was out. Well, as per Superior Thread's advice as well as Jamie's video, I did the test where it would flip over in my hand and not lift. (It was a Glide prewound). Anyway, it kept lifting out of my hand and I kept loosening the bobbin case screw until I had it not lifting. However, as I was inserting it into my Freddie, the screw fell out and I couldn't find it anywhere on my multicolor Berber carpet. (!!!!!!!) Luckily I had another bobbin case I was going to keep for bobbins I wind, but now it's my new prewound bobbin case! So I fiddled with it but was afraid to loosen the screw too much, and it was still lifting slightly out of my hand when I got annoyed and just stuck it in. The tension looked ok but I thought I saw a few places that looked slightly eyelashy. so, I'm curious about the best way to check tension on prewound bobbins.

My second question is about using variegated thread in bobbin and top. Should I be seeing dots of the bobbin thread on top?

I swear, sometimes I feel like I'm Lucy in an 'I Love Lucy' episode! The last episode would have been when a washcloth got sucked up into my bobbin area on my Freddie. Thanks for any advice!

You didn't say why you're doing all the testing on your bobbin.  Why don't you just put the bobbin in the machine and do a test sew?  I've owned a TOWA gauge for 9 years and I have never once needed to use it.  I know how to test the bobbins using Jamie's method, but again I've never needed to do that. I always sew out a little test piece on the side when I start a new quilt and if I think I need to I will adjust the top tension.  My bottom thread always looks good.  I always use pre-wound bobbins so I just figured that was why.