I read somewhere sometime ago that someone used Maquire's Wax on the wheels or rails on their machine. Can anyone tell me if they do and how do they use it? Does APQS approve using this? Will it make the machine head glide smoother? I am a newbie and still trying to get nice round circles, not ovals. TIA

Yes there was a thread about waxing or not waxing rails only --not the wheels -- most chose not to wax . Wax will build up which will be harder to get off then apply again . APQS does approve I think they even suggest it in the manual . Waxing is another personal choice . All I do is wipe my rails down each day with soft rag and rubbing alcohol works great also for my wheels I take a q-tip with alcohol on it go around each wheel .

My millie glides smooths . I believe getting nice circles just takes some practice then more practice . That is what has worked for me .

good luck and welcome to our forum

Happy quilting

With PPP your circles will do better. In order to get better control, I actually did a queen size ebay top made with lots of triangles and didn't use a ruler. This helped immensely learning to guide the machine at an angle. Over time, (like 1 year later, I sew part time) all of a sudden it felt like anything was possible on the machine. It actualy moved like I wanted, I could retrace over the top of feathers, etc. What a liberating feeling that was.

Old ebay quilt tops are super, you have no emotional or time investment in making a top and there are lots of things you can try like stencils and no one gets hurt.

There are some who do and some who use to and some who have never used the wax on the rails (rails only never on the wheels).... those of us who use to either have given up the wax and moved to the Edgerider wheels or decided it really wasn't helping that much anyways.