thread prblems

It was supposed to be an easy project - meandering on a baby quilt. But the top thread was way to obvious on the bottom quilt piece - it was showing too much - since I am a newbie at this I am not quite sure what to do to fix this. My class did not show me much on fixing tensions, etc. I have quilted four other quilts on the machine and did not have this problem. Sometimes the top thread looked loose on the top for a couple of stitches. But it was the stitching on the bottom and it was the top thread that kept showing - three or four large stitches. Help! I tore the stitches out and they came out easily.

Hi Linda

It could be that your top tension is too loose (or your bobbin is too tight) the easiest tension to adjust is the top tension, try tightening it a little (left loose - right tight), adjust it in small increments and see if the result improves. Matching the weight of the top thread to the weight of the bottom thread may help too if you are using different threads top and bottom. I hope this helps. - Your manual should have advice on bobbin tension. I do adjust mine but I know some people don't like to - see what the experts say here and then decide whether to do it.

Judy

Linda,

This is how I do my tension. First I fix the bobbin tension where I want it. I keep mine looser. I hold the bobbin case in my hand and pull up on the thread tail. It should just lift up the bobbin case but not lift it off your hand. Next I loosen the top tension and begin stitching You stitches on top will look ugly. I tighten 1 turn at at time until it is close. Then once I get it close I tweak it by 1/4 turn at a time. This takes a little time but I find that I get the best tension. Give it a try and see what happens. If your top thread looks loose on top and is showing on the bottom then tighten the upper tension.

• 1 month later...