How do you quilt the long boards smoothly?

I just got 2 R&S boards for no-brainers and to show nervous beginners how they can get started... one is big spirals.

I used the rear mounted stylus from the Quiltazoid and made sure the stylus was settled into the groove. Every now and the the stylus would pop up and out of the groove so I had to drive the machine head along holding the stylus. I also thought that some of the spirals looked a bit wobbly on solid black fabric in neon pink!

If I was a beginner I expect I would be quite pleased with my efforts but I'm looking for really SMOOTH spirals.

Should I get the R&S stylus? Is there a secret knack to it??

I want people coming to me for tuition to be impressed!

It sounds like you may need to adjust (lower) the stylus a little to keep it in the grooves better. I haven't tried the Quiltazoid stylus on the back of my machine because I already have the R&S / Quilt-EZ stylus back there. That stylus has a spring to keep a little pressure downwards on the boards.

As far as getting smooth lines goes, there is a little play in the grooves. That is, the grooves are slightly wider than the stylus. As you move through the pattern, try keeping the stylus hugged up against one edge of the groove. Also, make sure the stylus doesn't have too much wobble in it. Again, I'm not sure the Quiltazoid stylus in the back. I've only used it on the front.

I have used one of the giant boards for a "no-brainer" too--and my brain was tired by the time I was finished!!! My stylus would pop out too--and I had the correct one for the brand of board--so I came to the conclusion that my table must dip a little bit between the support tubes--or my boards do--as I bought them second hand. If I put a little extra rubber mat in the dippy areas it worked much better--but my brain was still tired by the time I was finished--and I haven't dared try again!!