tips for new users

Stevie

Stevie, I am by no means a expert, but some tips I would give is to double check that everything that needs to be tightened is.

Try not to lean on your poles,

Also one thing I have found is I keep my left hand on the QZ stylus and my right hand on my right Lenni handle. I have noticed that sometimes my right hand conflicts with my left hand, and that has caused me to get some wobbles.

When using the Spirograph, use smooth movements and do not go to fast, and slow down when you come to where the two points join, that way I am sure everything will join up okay.

Hope this helps

Stevie Kath gives you very good advice. I always stitch the design with no thread the first time to make sure I've tighten it all down right. The thing I forget most is to either lock the QZ in place or tighten the arm (do arm last!). When stitching the large spiros go slower. Leaning on your poles will definitely cause problems. I usually sit while I'm stitching and don't run the risk of leaning this big old belly on my bars! Really once you've done it once right you've got it. It shouldn't take tons of practice. Please let us know if you are having a specific problem. If a specific design is not stitching right repeatly then you might have a bad gear. Email Adam.

I'm looking for advice on epichtrochoids!... I thought I had followed the instructions but the design looked like a cigar shaped UFO. I want to do some inside out filled circles... I decided to go round my spiro twice to make it stand out but second time around it was slightly off - any ideas?

for those of us who are not mathematicians -

an epitrochoid is a spiro design with pointed pivot points?

a hydrotrochoid would have rounded ones?

can someone clarify for me please cause it has been a while since mybrain learned this - a very LONG while in fact!

Originally posted by meg

for those of us who are not mathematicians -

an epitrochoid is a spiro design with pointed pivot points?