Quilt Label Protocol

I am piecing a quilt as a gift for my Niece's Wedding and have selected a lovely pattern, "Venetian Dream" from Fon's & Porter's Easy Quilts, Fall, 2009 magazine. I am relatively new to quilting and using patterns therefore want to know if I should reference the pattern source on the quilt label when it is finsihed. Thanks!

I don't - decided a long time ago that the labels can become too long and detailed. I include the name of the quilt, washing instructions, my name and date and who I am giving it to. If it were a show quilt, then I might think twice and include the design reference out of respect for the designer.

I agree with Meg. As long as it is not going to a show. At least sign your initials and year.

Another idea may be to quilt the wedding date into the quilt into a corner with their initials. I have done this for baby quilts with the baby's initials and the date born. It looks neat.

OK I am going to be the different opinion here... I say, it's your quilt, and it's your label, so if you want to put a label on there that gives the pattern name, all the info, etc. go for it! And, also, I think it also gives credit to the pattern designer. They might be pleased that their name/and or pattern was on the label. In fact, I have made a few wall hanging quilts (for resale) but before I did, I emailed the pattern designer and asked for permission (copywrite) and I told them that I would reference the source on my label. The designer was 1) pleased that I asked permission to use their pattern and 2) was even more pleased that I referenced their name, pattern title and web site on my label. I think it's nice to give the source recognition. It's a small quilty world out there so any way we can all give eachother kudos and recognition, the better.

(JMHO)

i'm so ditzy i am lucky if i remember to label my quilts at all. (ok - go easy on me here ~ i know that ALL quilts should be labeled ~ and i'm trying to do better)