Do you think there are enough customers...

Most of the pictures I have seen are of heavily quilted complicated patterns. I love them and aspire to be that good. My question is do you think there are enough people who just want their tops quilted with a nice even all over pattern or simple patterns well placed?

I don't want to go into this in debt for the machine and then not be able to support my habit. I have saved about half of what I want to spend and I am not good at waiting but the joy will go out if I feel slave to the payment.

Thanks in advance.

Stacey

It depends on where you live as far as customers. You could contact LQS and ask if they have someone longarming for them. In my area sadly there are not enough. DO NOT believe someoone who tells you you can pay for your machine in two years. It is just not possible in todays economic climate. I stay slowly steadily busy. I wish I had way more customers but!!! I would still get a machine even if it is just for me because I love quilting.

Nora

Acesgame, it is like what Nora said ..depends were you live ..I just quilt from side to side . I live in the country and these women are not taking their quilts to shows , but they want their qulits to be done neat and clean . Stiches must be right ..no loops etc. I stay busy year round .. the money I make is needed in our home to help out .. once you get started you could make at least four hundred a month or more . Pat

PS. this is a business for me ..so that means you have to work at it to make it work .. good luck

Nora gives very good advice.

Test the waters with questions to any Quilt Shops near you, everyone you know who quilts, etc... then decide... Mine would make the payments the last few monthys, but, it wouldn't come near making the purchases of thread, batting, pattern boards, the Quiltazoid, etc.. and I wouldn't give any of them up.