outling applique work

calaquilts

Hi There

I am a newbie and once again asking for help from experienced longarmers.

I have a quilt that has a lot of appliqued flowers and stems and vinelike work on it. The customer wants all the applique work outlined. Does anyone have any helpful hints for me. I have a micro drive and have heard this is very helpful so I will put that on before I start and do a practice run. I am wondering about needle size, etc. The quilt size is 84 x 84. My machine is the Millenium. Any advice you have would be great.

A while ago I asked for help with stitching a diagonal design in a log cabin king size. I had an awesome response fom a lot of you and ended up turning the quilt on point and using my channel lock. This worked awesome and the quilt came out real nice but it was a lot of work trying to keep tension on the quilt.. Thanks for all your hints on how to do this.

This forum is very helpful for me and I am glad I can throw a question out there and know I'll get a lot of help.

Custom quilting is a challenge for me but I want to master the techniques so I can work from the front of the machine as well as do the pantos.

I just finished one that was embroidered frogs. I outlined each one of them. Came out really cute.

Your micro-drive will give you a lot of control. Use an extended base and a ruler or template to help keep your work steady. I used Megan's Best Ruler (the smallest one) and Jody Beamish's new mini-curve. Both of them worked great. Just take your time. This was the first time I had ever really used a template or a ruler to keep my movements steady/straight and it took a few minutes to get used to it. Once I got used to it I found it was easy to use.

Phyllis Hughes

Oklahoma City

CaroleG,